Quackery
Fiction, Poetry

Seconds

the_second_hand_shop-1He found her at the second-hand store. They wed soon thereafter, honeymooned in Vegas, and settled for a brief life together.

Hand-in-hand they walked among the trees and along a quiet green meadow, resting beneath a weeping willow by the stream. She laid her head on his shoulder and kissed his cheek.

“Thank you for buying me. Sorry we won‘t have more time together.”

He kissed her forehead, held her close, and whispered, “I’ve loved a lifetime from the moment I found you.”

The evening sun settled into dusk. The two forms blurred into one and disappeared into the night.

friday-fictioneers

About Quackzalcoatl

Phoneticist, Palindrologist, and freelance Sharknadologist. Inventor. Ruler of 2-acre lakes and small streams.

Discussion

19 thoughts on “Seconds

  1. Dear Terry,

    This certainly left me with lots of questions…but in a good way, I’m guessing she’s a mannequin that came to life? Loved the way they blurred into one.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Posted by rochellewisoff | 20 September, 2013, 6:40 am
    • Shalom Rochelle!

      There are three distinct possibilities here. First, that’s NOT a mannequin, but a real person for sale who only APPEARS to be a mannequin. Second, she’s a mannequin that came to life. Third, she’s a mannequin the whole time. 🙂

      Flash fiction is such fun, because we’re forced to leave so much open to interpretation! Thank you as always for your feedback! So much fun!

      Posted by Quackzalcoatl | 20 September, 2013, 7:56 am
  2. As one who also went the open-ended route this week, I appreciate the possibilities you left open for us. 🙂

    janet

    Posted by sustainabilitea | 20 September, 2013, 11:15 am
  3. I loved the line ” “I’ve loved a lifetime from the moment I found you.” 🙂

    Posted by helenmidgley | 20 September, 2013, 4:19 pm
  4. Ahh, mysterious and quirky, yet sweet and a bit sad. I was thinking she was just a mannequin and he was just a weirdo, but now, I don’t know what to think…

    Posted by Lindaura Glamoura | 20 September, 2013, 4:58 pm
  5. This was really cool. I like the idea that she was a mannequin that came to life, or maybe a real person trapped inside a mannequin. Really unique story!

    Posted by The Bumble Files | 20 September, 2013, 6:27 pm
  6. Dear Quackzl,

    Under the spreading willow tree, I found her and she found me….

    Great story. I, too, liked how they blended into one as the day drew to a close.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    Posted by dmmacilroy | 21 September, 2013, 6:01 am
  7. love is a bought woman who stays bought – I liked this.

    Posted by billgncs | 21 September, 2013, 12:28 pm
  8. Interesting and quirky, I like it. I think I’m going with the mannaquin that came to life, but I’m open to other solutions.

    Posted by Pete | 21 September, 2013, 2:46 pm
  9. I like the language you used…particularly that last line. Very melancholy.

    Posted by glossarch | 23 September, 2013, 10:07 pm

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

