Quackery
Fiction

Doors

100_7320-1The choice was simple. I could choose to remain imprisoned, or walk through one of three doors. Each door led to a certain fate, two of which were slightly better, one which was preponderantly worse.

I thought for the longest time. I was comfortable and provided for, though walled-in and without liberty. The chance for some degree of freedom appealed to me, but the risk seemed too severe. And then it occurred to me.

Perhaps the walls were merely a fabrication of my mind.

So I imagined the doors without the walls, and stepped out across the meadow.

About Quackzalcoatl

Phoneticist, Palindrologist, and freelance Sharknadologist. Inventor. Ruler of 2-acre lakes and small streams.

Discussion

7 thoughts on “Doors

  1. Never heard ‘preponderantly’ used as an adverb before – you learn something every day. And now I’m infinitely wiser. 🙂 A different take on the prompt – well done.

    Posted by Sandra | 27 September, 2013, 2:58 am
  2. Dear Terry,

    Sounds like he overcame his prison walls. Nice what you can do when you put your mind to it.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Posted by rochellewisoff | 27 September, 2013, 5:29 am
  3. Dear Quackz,

    Spell check is not your friend. I ‘though’ ough o be edied. He may be locked in but he has free will just no liberty. Small point but germane to the tale, which, in the end, I enjoyed.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    Posted by Douglas MacIlroy | 27 September, 2013, 5:32 am
  4. I loved the idea of his being a prisoner only in his own mind. I loved that you took those doors with out walls, put them inside walls, and then brought us back to the meadow and the 4th choice – no doors!

    Posted by Lindaura Glamoura | 29 September, 2013, 4:57 am
  5. Reminds me of the very first episode of Star Trek. Nicely done!

    Posted by glossarch | 1 October, 2013, 10:00 pm

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

