Quackery
The Theory of Everything, Theology

Ranting and Venting

science5164823cafa96f0c4d00a96eSitting here, as I often do, watching the Science Channel and other Discovery programming, shaking my head. It never ceases to amaze me, the misinformation and falsehoods that passes for fact these days. We are lied to constantly in the name of science, history, biology — yet, we are told that it is tantamount to “child abuse” for any parent to teach children otherwise. Let’s see…

Do I teach my kids that all of life arose spontaneously without any plan or intelligence behind it? No, I do not. That’s ridiculous.

Do I teach my kids that archeologists, paleontologists, anthropologists, and other 20th-century scientists know more about ancient history than the ancient historians? No, I do not. The ancients knew their world better than we ever could.

Do I teach my kids that matter arose from nothing, by pure accident, for no apparent reason? No I do not. That’s idiotic.

Do I teach my kids that dinosaurs lived in an “age of dinosaurs” which died out 65 million years ago, and have never been seen alive by the eyes of man? No, I do not, not with overwhelming evidence suggesting otherwise. We know from The Flintstones that people had dinosaurs as pets!

Do I teach my kids that the universe is held together by “dark matter,” a mysterious unseen force made up to explain the unexplainable? You’ve gotta be kidding me.

I could go on and on with this. The amount of quantifiable hilarity we’re expected to buy into far exceeds anything proposed in all previous ages combined. In fact, I have no doubt the ancients had a far better grasp of reality 3,500 years ago. We have glorified idiotic nonsense as “fact” which makes me want to vomit whenever I hear it.

I suppose I’ll have to spend a few posts going into all this garbage and cutting through the crap. It pisses me off to have to do so, because I have to constantly ask myself, “are we really that stupid???” Collectively, yes, we are. Sadly. Just watch a few minutes of the Science Channel on any given day.

About Quackzalcoatl

Phoneticist, Palindrologist, and freelance Sharknadologist. Inventor. Ruler of 2-acre lakes and small streams.

Discussion

32 thoughts on “Ranting and Venting

  1. ROTFL! 😀

    Posted by Susan Irene Fox | 11 January, 2014, 5:06 pm
  2. Righteous Truths Ducky !

    There is NO correlation between IQ and good character, and desires for money, status, position… blah blah … all these join forces to CONTROL and exploit the masses… this is a selfish, harmful and killing life-order, but the science serving war is the most ugly of all.

    I am GJPaul.wordpress.com – Protesting the material universe’s harmful, killing life-order, and priviledged witness of various loving mystical persons involved in this life.

    Posted by Gregory | 11 January, 2014, 5:32 pm
  3. 🙂 The kids deserve it

    Posted by john zande | 11 January, 2014, 5:47 pm
    • 🙂 The most important thing is to crush any notion of independent thought. There will be NO THINKING while living under my roof!!! Hahaha.

      Posted by Quackzalcoatl | 11 January, 2014, 6:00 pm
      • I am with you Quack until the bit about the dinosaurs. The scientific evidence supporting the age of the cosmos at c.13.7 billion years and planet earth at c. 4.8 billion years has a lot of weight.

        Posted by Marc | 11 January, 2014, 6:40 pm
        • I don’t dispute the age of the cosmos or the earth. But I would love to know how ancient cultures across the planet all seem to have had knowledge of, and made representations of, various dinosaurs. From cave drawings to stone carvings to literary references, these people knew all about these creatures and hunted them frequently. Medieval knights gained prominence by slaying dragons and beasts of tremendous size. Of course, we are told that these are all tall tales and myths, even though the extent of such accounts as fact seems to suggest otherwise. Even now, reports of giant lizards in remote swamps have a certain amount of credibility.

          Perhaps most went extinct long ago… but not all of em.

          Posted by Quackzalcoatl | 11 January, 2014, 7:08 pm
      • Father of the Year, right there!

        Posted by john zande | 11 January, 2014, 7:13 pm
  4. Am I missing something here. You watch these tv programmes most days. And most days you yell at the screen. You yell at the screen because you disagree it’s facts are facts. And then you keep watching most days. Then you write a blog about this. Called ranting and venting. Which spreads the wrong facts more widely. Then you keep on watching the same programmes. Telling us that the tv audience is stupid for believing these facts which are not facts that you watch every day and then blog about. While they are probably doing something completely different and not watching the tv channel today. And you are going to be even unhappier writing more blogs explaining why because you have to. Now have I missed something here? 🙂

    Posted by paulfg | 11 January, 2014, 7:33 pm
    • Well, you have a point there, for sure. It’s interesting subject matter, and they always have such lovely production values. I don’t normally vent, but while it was fresh I figured I might as well start writing about it and get deeper into it later. Does that make any sense? Or no?

      Posted by Quackzalcoatl | 11 January, 2014, 8:03 pm
  5. Now that’s humor, uhm, right up my, uhm, alley.

    Posted by cosmostheinlost | 12 January, 2014, 8:34 am
  6. I like ducky’s blog by his clever playfulness, sincere faith in Jesus, balanced and tolerant attitude, the quality of his visitors, and all these fun topics 🙂

    Posted by Gregory | 13 January, 2014, 5:12 am
  7. Ducky, I’ve noticed many of your visitors are from foreign lands, like south america, africa india, etc, so if I may, which (and where) university did you attend ?

    Posted by GJPaul | 13 January, 2014, 7:50 pm
  8. Do I teach my kids that the universe is held together by “dark matter,” a mysterious unseen force made up to explain the unexplainable? You’ve gotta be kidding me.

    Especially when it is a well know factoid that it’s God’s Invisible Chewing gum that holds it all together.

    Posted by Arkenaten | 14 January, 2014, 4:46 pm
  9. I bought a show called Walking with Dinosaurs. I think you and your children should like it as it is visually stunning. (Unfortunately, it does not include Fred and Barney 😦 )

    Posted by kellsbellsfrompc | 14 January, 2014, 5:04 pm
  10. A real heretic you are.

    Posted by silenceofmind | 15 January, 2014, 11:57 am

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

